And she turns 40.

40 years ago today, my mother gave birth to a little girl.

Being a mom myself now, I *truly* believe that moms should get a present on their child’s birthday. Seriously. They do all the work.

We’ve had a heck of a summer here and by "heck", I really do mean the other word. My entire life I’ve marked my birthday as the middle of summer. Well, our summer hasn’t really had a chance to start around here and now it’s already half over. Earlier this week I decided that the one person I wanted to spend my day with (besides my immediate family, of course) was my mom. So, I did. I am so thankful that I got the opportunity to do so.

Somethings I learned in 40 years…
– if your child wants to wear his Spiderman costume to Target, let him
– if your too busy to answer the phone, don’t
– the way you greet someone (when they wake up, when they walk in the door, etc), sets the tone for the whole day
– if it is close to meal time, do not discuss major life decisions
– no day but today (musical RENT)
– those that love you are not trying to hurt you
– if you set your attitude to happy, life is much more enjoyable
– no one can make you feel inferior without your consent (Eleanor Roosevelt)

I have to thank so many of you out there for all of the cards, well wishes, and love. You are the best! I’ll show you all the cards soon. They are all so beautiful!

4 thoughts on “And she turns 40.

  1. Happy Birthday!! I have to say that I became very emotional when I read that you spent the day with your mom. I lost my mother last year in a car accident. She had come to see my oldest son graduate from high school. She was going to stay until the following weekend to help with his party but she had to leave for a Dr. appt. She was to return a few days after the Dr. appt to help with the party. She did not even make it home. She only made it about 1 1/2 hours away. Each day spent with your loved one is such a blessing. I am so glad to hear you celebrate her too!! Without her there would be no you. Since she died I now make sure to say I love you any chance I get, smile always and never let anyone leave angry. Always hug your family and friends when they leave. It may be the last chance you get. God bless you and your mom on your very special day!!

  2. This is an awesome list Geeta! The one about not answering the phone made me LOL! 🙂 I can’t wait to see all of the cards that you received. Hope your birthday was wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

