Believe in the power of one.

090308colorinspiration20Before I ramble about my title choice, I’ll share my card first. The colors for this card are not me. But they do follow Kristina Werner’s Color Inspiration challenge: Tempting Turquoise, Old Olive, Rose Red, Regal Rose, and Whisper White.

Those colors are hard… I think it’s the turquoise that threw me off. It’s so bright compared to the rest. I finally got to work together but it took a bunch of shuffling which color was going to dominate, etc.

Dsc_1861_1edited_small

So, here’s my card.
Lots of new things on this card… I got my new SU! scallop border punch last night! I love this saying by Mahatma Gandhi … it’s from The Unity Stamp Company. More about that saying in a second. The ribbon is this May Arts Ribbon that I got from Jody (aka TexasJodyLynn) a long time ago and I just used it for the first time on this card. (psst… Jody is doing another fabulous ribbon share AND also the sticky strip stuff!)

Well, I like the result. I know I would never have thought to put those colors together myself!

Now, onto my long story. I got this stamp a couple of weeks ago when I saw it on the Unity Stamp website. It has always been one of my favorite sayings and well, being of Indian descent makes it all the more special to me. Last year, when my oldest son went to Kinder, I became the webmaster for the PTA. I swore I wasn’t going to do anything on the PTA (officer wise… especially my first year!) and well within 2 weeks of school starting, I was an officer. The problem then was that I was a new mom to the whole school thing and communication seemed somewhat lacking at letting parents know what was going on.I volunteered to help by creating the website and then I went on with my business. It was fine. Not good. Not great. But better than before. Then fast forward to this year… is it possible that I’m even more lost as a parent of a 1st grader at the same school than I was last year? Apparently it is. Communication is much worse this year between the school, the PTA, the parents. Everything. Ah, and this massive rush of emotion came over me AFTER the FRUSTRATION … ah, yes, this is why I signed on last year. I must have forgotten about the pain and frustration as time passed. DOH! So, I *itched and moaned and complained and then thought… "be the change you wish to see in the world".  I can do it! I offered to create and maintain the website for the school (not just the PTA). And then the bureaucracy set in (I’m a parent, I don’t work for the school district, etc. etc.). But I’m happy to report that on Tuesday evening, I got the JOB! 🙂 I’m so very excited and quite happy to be doing something constructive to help improve this. One person can make a difference.

SO, go out and "be the change you wish to see in the world" today!

——–

p.s. I just realized after writing all of this that the stamp has a misspelling in Gandhi’s name! DOH! I’ve contacted the company.

 

10 thoughts on “Believe in the power of one.

  1. That is a GREAT saying! I love it! Keep us updated on how the PTA goes, I don’t have to deal with that till next year when my DD goes into Kindergarten! Anyway, I think your card is fabulous, I love the scallops!

  2. Congratulations on your new job for the school!!! When my kiddos were little before I worked FOR the school I was PTA president for two years. I have to say I like working for the school MUCH better!
    Love your card, prefect sentiment for this occasion! I can’t believe the misspelling, good catch!

Leave a Reply

