Oldies but goodies: Big Block Background

Last week, the A Muse News Blog featured the big block stamp as the Oldies but Goodies image of the week. I actually picked that stamp to showcase because I do think it's one of those really versatile stamps. You can do so many things with it. You can use it to reverse an image (ink up your image, stamp it on the big block and then stamp the big block down on your paper). You can give the focal image some dimension by using this in the background. You can create multi-colored backgrounds. That's the way I used it for the sample I made up. Here it is.
DSC_0074_edited-1 (Small)I took two colors of memento inks: summer sky and bamboo leaves and one at a time covered parts of my big block. Once I had both inks on there, I stamped my image creating a faux sky/grass combo. Crafty, eh? And then I could center my birch trees perfectly.

I finished this card up for this assignment and took it outside to film while waiting for the bus to bring home DS#1 from school. And my neighbor snatched it up… she needed a sympathy type card. I didn't know it wasn't coming back into my house! LOL!

All images and notes by A Muse Artstamps: big block background, you are in my thoughts, birch trees, french blue notes, french roast notes; copper brads, memento inks

Project #2 coming up in the morning.

Leave a Reply

