25 days of projects – day 12: Magic Reindeer Food

Just under the wire… whew…. I know y'all are just waiting by your computers on a Friday night during a busy time of year at 11:42 pm (my time) to see if I post today for my 25 days of projects! I just know it! LOL. I certainly do not believe this.

So, I'm soooo close to being done on so many things and yet not close enough to finish anything. Ho Hum.
DSC_0221_edited-1 (Small)
Magic Reindeer Food is the project today. The boys and I actually made a mess the reindeer food on Wednesday, when it was too cold to go outside after school. Magic Reindeer Food, for those of you that don't know about it, is food that we sprinkle on our lawn for the reindeer on Christmas Eve so that they can find their way to our house… and have a little snack while Santa is *working*.  We got them all packaged the other day but today we (and by we, I mean the boys *helped* on um, a couple and then they were done!) finished the tags and the snowflakes on top.

Recipe for Magic Reindeer Food: (we didn't measure ANYTHING):
DSC_0225 (Small)Quick Oats

Shiny, Sparkly Glitter
Snow Glitter (Martha Stewart – just a little)
Red & Green Sprinkles
Snowflake Sprinkles (from Target)
Mix all together.

So, guess what we packaged them in???
DSC_0222 (Small)

TEST TUBES!! How did you guess? So these test tubes had the blue lids. I didn't want to paint these like I did on the others – mainly because of time… and okay, effort. :p  We kept them blue and went with a snowflake theme! We punched snowflakes (using a newly acquired Martha Stewart snowflake punch!) and ran them through my xyron to make them sticky. Stuck those to the tops of the lids. VoilaDSC_0224 (Small)
. Dressed up.Remember our target audience: 15 2-3 year olds and 25 6-7 year olds. Too much effort is just not worth it. And I mean that in the practical sense. Then on to the tags… 

used those shipping tags from Office Depot again. Scored them and used the SU! Slit punch to make it stay closed. Stamped Blitzen on the outside, put the poem on the inside, and signed the appropriate child's name.

That's it, 40 Magic Reindeer Food ready for delivery to the preschool and 1st grade!

3 thoughts on “25 days of projects – day 12: Magic Reindeer Food

  1. this is such a good idea, I love, love it, and inside your box, nothing purple as I thought, but youre right it totally SCREAMS YOU!

Leave a Reply

