“Be the change you wish to see in the world.”

Yeah, I know. I've said that phrase before. It's my favorite saying! A while back I posted something about this saying… I got a stamp with this saying on it from the Unity Stamp company… and then found out Gandhi's name was misspelled. I did email the owner of Unity and she said she'd take care of it. Hasn't happened yet but I did find the stamp from another company: Great Impressions Stamps! WOHOO!

"Be the change you wish to see in the world" -Gandhi

I've been ever so blessed and lucky to work with 7 fabulous ladies for the past 4 months to create a program for new parents at my son's elementary. We all had similar experiences when we were first time moms at that school… completely confused, scared and quite overwhelmed… and all that was just at the registration process. We decided with the help of the PTA to create a more educational, fun, and welcoming program for new parents on registration day. That was today. It was awesome. These ladies are awesome. Not only did our committee soar today but we had so many very cool volunteers that came out to help us. That made all the difference in the world.

Oh, back to my favorite saying… there is something very empowering to me with those words. Everytime I think them or say them to myself, I feel a bit more empowered. What we did today, was purely selfless and truly the meaning helping others, I think. We changed the world. At least our small part of the world. I am honored to have worked with these ladies and I wanted to show them how I felt.DSC_0150 copy (Small)DSC_0161 copy (Small)

I made the ladies some magnets with this quote on it. This frame is made with a sizzix die I bought last Christmas and never used <roll eyes>. I bought it to make my mom some ornament frames with the boys pictures in it. Ok, so maybe this Christmas it'll happen!

I used the new Juliette Paper from A Muse and stamped the solid Damask under the quote! Easy!

I also gave them all some jelly beans. I have to tell you … here's a great tip… go to Sam's and buy the big thing of Jelly Beans (multi flavors!). I bought one of those and have used it for several gifts (coming soon to a blog near you…) and I still have 1/4 of the jar left! OMG! What a great deal!

So, I know you remember that I gave out these test tubes filled with candy to all the teachers back in October for Halloween and then I took some more to Seattle for the A Muse Creative Team back in November. Well, I still, um, yes, still have some left so I packaged up these jelly beans for these 7 ladies and I found a great poem to put on there…

DSC_0160 copy (Small) Women are a lot like
Jelly Beans –

each person brings
their own ‘flavor’ the best mix is enjoyed when more flavors are together!

Isn't that cute? And fitting? On the back side I just stamped "You Rock" and handwrote "it's been fun working with you".

It's been a great day! I'll have more of the gifts that we gave out over the next couple of days!

Happy Wednesday!
 

6 thoughts on ““Be the change you wish to see in the world.”

  1. Not only are you a hard worker, you are a wonderful giver!! I am sure everything you do is appreciated so very much. I’ve never seen this quote before. It is beautiful! Love all your clever and neat projects. We will be in Austin on Fri 6/5 for just one night. Will get to visit Stamp Salado! Found their website. Can’t wait. Hubby wants to go too!

  2. That’s one of my favorite quotes too! 🙂 So is “How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” – Anne Frank.
    And very sweet to start that new parent committee… I feel REALLY bad for our new families too. There’s always the “hidden culture” to figure out

Leave a Reply

