Holiday Crafts! Part 3 – Glass Etched Ornaments!

Every year my neighborhood does an ornament exchange. The rules are simple… wrapped ornament with your name on the inside, NOT a tacky ornament, and each ornament can be stolen a maximum of 2 times. We play the traditional "white elephant" rules without the tackiness! But boy, some of my neighbors are vicious! It's always a good time and I look forward to it every year.

This year was no different than the years past… I always make my ornament. I tried glass etching many years ago and really had an idea that I wanted to try out. So I revisited glass etching!

The hardest part of this endeavor was finding glass ornaments with holes already in them. Sure, I looked online but they were pricey and I wanted A BUNCH. I called up my BFF and asked her about sources… she has done much stained glass and I knew she would know of some good glass sources. Turns out she cut me a bunch herself from her scraps and her husband drilled the holes for me! SO NICE!!! I so appreciate them doing that!

Here is the ornament I made for the exchange:

Neighborhoodornament (Small)
I made a few other ones too for various friends (Longhorns and Twilight… is there anything else??):  click on the thumbnails to see them all.

  • DSC_0574 (Small)
  • DSC_0590 (Small)
  • DSC_0589 (Small)
DSC_0589 (Small)


Have a great day!


7 thoughts on “Holiday Crafts! Part 3 – Glass Etched Ornaments!

  1. Those are fabulous! I tried glass etching some plates that didn’t turn out so well. It turns out that the brand new bottle of etching cream I bought from Mike’s was already bad, so I ruined 6 plates. I love the look, but can’t seem to find a good source for the cream that isn’t already chunky or full of glass flakes already. Can you tell me where you got yours??

Leave a Reply

